Some changes…

by Bernard Brandt

Today is the Feast of St. Philip the Apostle. In the Christian East, many of us choose this day to begin our preparations for the celebration of the Nativity of Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, according to the flesh. I believe that this is called Christmas in the West.

As there have already been some changes recently imposed upon me, I have come to the conclusion that it is now time for me to make some changes as well. One of those changes is that I will be greatly reducing or eliminating my participation in Facebook, especially my comments, which I find to be unprofitable. I will greatly reduce the time I spend upon reviewing my e-mails, to once in the morning, once at noon, and once in the evening. I will stop the constant review of the internet, and use that time for something of perhaps better purpose.

I will instead devote myself instead to prayer, fasting, almsgiving, and study. As Our Lord has said, on any number of occasions in Holy Scripture, that it is better to do these things than to talk about them, my comments about them in future will be limited to what my betters have had to say about them, in the hopes that those comments might spur myself and others to more action in those directions.

I will also be conducting a general house cleaning. I have too many things, and to too little purp0se. Trash will be discarded. Things that I no longer need will be given, to my friends, to Salvation Army, or to the poor. And I will attempt to reduce my wants.

It is my hope that by the time of the Feasts of the Nativity and Our Lord’s Theophany (which some in the West call Epiphany), the house in which I dwell, and the body which presently houses my soul, and that soul and spirit themselves, will be in some fit state to receive my Lord. At present, alas, this does not appear to be the case.

And, for those few readers I have here, I will be writing more in this silly little weblog, and elsewhere. More on that, later.

But, unfortunately, the guy I voted for actually got the Presidency. I’m not particularly proud of having so voted. But I’m afraid that it was an act of desperation,  in order to prevent someone whom I thought was much worse from getting that office. The fact remains, however, that he has the potential for doing some considerable damage to the country as well.

And so, at least for me, there is no ‘honeymoon’. From now on, he, and the rest of the government, not to mention the usual suspects of the media and the chattering classes, are under strict scrutiny. If they play nicely and manage to work together to do this country some good, then fine. If not, though, I will happily make my presence known, in the voting booth, in town hall, and in the streets, if necessary.

I have had enough of oppositional-defiant outpatients pretending to be politicians, regardless of the party. I have had enough of corrupt pols who have made themselves rich through their office. I have had enough of unaccountable bureaucracies or ‘journalists’ who have attempted to ‘manufacture consent’, or to ‘nudge’ the people they are supposed to represent. No more.

