An Apology

by Bernard Brandt

I would like to apologize to my faithful readers (all two or three of them) for my prolonged silence, both in this blog, and my old one at pauca_lux_ex_oriente. This is due to several things: I am taking care of my aged mother, who is making that long, slow decline into eternity. I am also taking care of my wife, Elizabeth, who is suffering from a grave disease. I would prefer not to speak further. I am also suffering from a depression which began with the death of my first wife, Carolyn,  who fell asleep in the Lord nearly twenty two years ago. I suppose that my mood can be read from the fact that I am listening to Jacqueline du Pre’s performance of Sir Edward Elgar’s Cello Concerto.

But, as Jerry Pournelle, and any number of others in the Christian tradition have remarked, Despair is a sin.This is the first day of Great Lent for those who dwell in the East but use the Western Calendar. And so I shall begin again to write.

